x

How do Square's fees work with Gift Cards? When do I pay?

Hello. I was wondering how fees work with Square Gift Cards? Do I pay when one is swiped and when one is loaded? Sorry, I'm a noob at tall of this. I just want to understand before I sign up! Thanks. 

Message 1 of 7
1 Best Answer
Square Champion

Best Answer

@CutAndCaboodle You pay your normal percentage to load a square gift card at the time of purchase.  So if you swipe a $100 Square gift card you will get $97.25 deposited the next business day.  If they pay with cash or a check there is no fee to load the gift card.  you have the money even if they take 12 months to spend it.  there is no fee to pay from a gift card since you already paid the fee to load it.

View Best Answer >

Message 2 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Square Champion

Best Answer

@CutAndCaboodle You pay your normal percentage to load a square gift card at the time of purchase.  So if you swipe a $100 Square gift card you will get $97.25 deposited the next business day.  If they pay with cash or a check there is no fee to load the gift card.  you have the money even if they take 12 months to spend it.  there is no fee to pay from a gift card since you already paid the fee to load it.

Message 2 of 7

Thanks! I think I've got it: 

- You only pay to load a gift card if the customer uses a credit or debit card (and that's the ususal processing rate). 

- You don't pay processing fees when the customer redeems the card.

- I get paid for gift cards when they are loaded.

Can't wait to get started! 🙌

Message 3 of 7

But you don't have to pay any fees if you are putting a refund on a gift card, correct?

Message 4 of 7
Square Champion

Message 5 of 7

This reply was created from merging an existing thread: Is there additional transaction fee for using the Square Gift Card?