x
Beta Member

I need marketing and pricing advice.

I make macrame wall hangings, decor, dream catchers, bags, ect. I do custom orders as well. I need help on how to price my work. And what kind of marketing should I use? I’m really new to this so..

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Square Champion

Hey congratulations.

I am a florist so very similar business model. We both offer a final  “product” with product we purchase.

In the UK we have a minimum wage:

£10.42. Over 23

£10.18. 21-22 yrs

£7.49    18-20 yrs

£5.28.   16-17 yrs

Work out

1: How long it takes you to make 1 item or how many in an hour.

2: How much of each product you have to buy in order to make 1 item, luckily your product is not perishable. Or batch make can you make 10 catchers the same. People love “What you see is What you get” 

3: Keep your range simple or offer linked sales so they buy 3 items say.  Bag, catcher or plant holder.

4: Sustainability - is this a key thing and often costs more.

As a rule:

25% Cost goods (inc tax)

25 % Labour (inc tax)

25% Utilities - light heat rent etc (inc tax)

25% Profit (inc your IR amount)

If you are going to market on social media then take into account of your hours…

These are hand crafted items so your skill level should be more than minimum wage.  If you work from home take a reading of your electric meter & or gas meter before you start and again when you finish - see how many KWH you use when creating these items. 

Message 2 of 15
Beta Member