x

Square is blocking sites from being indexed for search

in my robots.txt file the following rules are present. 

User-agent: Googlebot
Disallow:
User-agent: Googlebot-Image
Disallow:

The first rule will block the google search bot from indexing ANY page on the site 

the second rule will block the google search bot from indexing ANY image on the site. 

Search engine visibility is set to "visible to search engines" in the SEO settings page on the dashboard. 

I was curious so I checked the robots.txt of a few other square sites and I'm seeing the same thing. I've talked to support, however they don't seem to understand and simply tell me to talk to google. Please review your robots.txt file so we can see if this is a widespread global issue.  you can review the robots.txt file by going to www.yourdomain.com/robots.com in any web browser. please post your results. 

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Square Champion

HI @ZaraJo 

So I am no expert, or novice even for that matter when ti comes to code.  I did just do a quick Google search though, and pulled this from Googles Devs page.

If i'm understanding Google, there actually isn't anything wrong with your robots.txt file since  there is no  /nogooglebot/ after Disallow:

Example from Google of a bot that is not allowed to crawl.

User-agent: Googlebot
Disallow: /nogooglebot/

User-agent: *
Allow: /

Sitemap: https://www.example.com/sitemap.xml

Meaning of code above;

1. The user agent named Googlebot is not allowed to crawl any URL that starts with https://example.com/nogooglebot/.
  2. All other user agents are allowed to crawl the entire site. This could have been omitted and the result would be the same; the default behavior is that user agents are allowed to crawl the entire site.
  3. The site's sitemap file is located at https://www.example.com/sitemap.xml.
Dan
Scorpion Coating Plus,LLC
Square Super Seller
Check out Square support center for additional help.

Message 2 of 8

Dan,