x

How do I set up my items for a store with price negotiations?

I have a small vintage store with multiple categories  - jewelry, accessories, etc. Under each category, there are sub categories - bracelet, ring, etc. I am new to Square and overwhelmed. Almost all my sales end up with some kind of negotation at time of sale. Bracelet is marked $115, I agree to $105.

How do I set up so that I can track categories, items but not establish price until I sell? Also, no idea how to deal with taxes  - everything is taxed at one rate except for one category (clothes under $110)which is tax exempt.

HELP! very anxious and finding Square support to be confusing and/or non-existent.

Message 1 of 11
1 Best Answer
Admin

Best Answer

I've answered each of your questions here @hudsonbabylon, I hope this helps !

To clarify, the 'toggle' RHatch is referring to is the blue switch in the screenshot below. This is what you'll see when you're setting up an item from the app after you've set up your sales tax.

When you toggle the sales tax ON (blue showing) for an item it will automatically add or include the tax in the sale. If you toggle the sales tax off (grey showing), it won't include the tax. To get to the screen below tap Items > All Items > Create Item or select an existing item.

You can set up one item for "1950s bracelet" and use it each time you make a sale.

When you leave the price empty as pictured above (tap "Save" after you've added the name/category etc) any time you select that item at Checkout the app will prompt you do enter a price. 

The 'flow' for checking out is a bit different on a phone than on an iPad. I'm not sure what your set up is but the articles below show how to take a payment step-by-step:

I really hope this helps. Please don't be overwhelmed! I know it takes a bit of time to find your way around the app but I promise it will start to make sense with practice. Don't hesitate to ask more questions!

😀 

️ Helen
Seller Community Manager