x
Square

How do you think the idea of a local business is changing (or not)?

Hi Seller Community!

I'm a researcher at Square and I'm looking into some nunances of running a local business. I'm curious to learn:

• What comes to mind when you hear the words "local business" or What does "local business" mean to you?
  • How do you think the idea of a local business is changing, if at all?
  • (Hopefully other Sellers will find this helpful too) What do you recommend to Sellers like yourself to stand out in your community and/or adapt to any changes? (Tools? strategies? etc)
Let’s discuss! I’m looking forward to hearing more. Thanks.
Orly
User Experience Researcher, Square
Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Square Champion

Ooooffff - I don't know how I feel about this - I think the term 'local business' has less meaning now because I think larger chains or small chains with footprints in multiple states like donut shops are perceived as small or local businesses because they are local to the individual. The definition of small business can include structures with up to several hundred employees and millions in revenue and also a person making pots and selling them at craft markets making less than $50K a year. It is hard to consider the terminology "local business" when a business has a larger corporate backing structure. I think that sometimes small business isn't understood by the consumer or the employees thinking we all have the safety net of a larger corporate chain.

We try to be open, honest, transparent, and flexible in our offerings as well as being a compassionate community.